What Was Good About Today

Owing to the strong sentiments I attach with this book, I chose this book for my first review.

‘What Was Good About Today’ is a soul-stirring work by first time author Carol Kruckeberg. And what is it about? It is a moving and honest account of the ordeals and challenges she faced after her daughter, Sara, was diagnosed with leukemia as a six year old.

I first read this story in a Reader’s Digest Condensed Edition as a ten year old kid. Since then, I keep going back, revisiting the Kruckeberg family, laughing at Sara’s spunky nature and I cry with her mother. This book has influenced me in a way like no other book has.

Nowhere does Carol Kruckeberg extrapolate, nowhere does the emotion seem excessive. It is honest, genuine and raw. Believe me when I say this book will stay with you a long, long time after you have read it. There really aren’t many negatives about this book-the writing style is clear, nuanced and to the point. It is very easy to get carried away and idealise every situation when writing about a loved one, but the author does a neat job of it. A great read that I would recommend to all. Hopefully, when you finish the book, you’ll find a lot of changes( for the better) in yourself.

The book is available at the following sites.

http://www.amazon.com/What-Was-Good-About-Today/dp/0880890002

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/what-was-good-about-today-carol-kruckeberg/1001565548?ean=9780440194255

Or, you could get the Reader’s Digest Condensed Edition 1990 Volume I, which has this story along with three others.

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

